top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayleah Allen

The Big Enemy of Self-Doubt.


Philippians 1:6

¨Being confident of this very thing that He who hath begun a good work in you will perform it until the day of Jesus Christ.¨

Luke 12: 22-26

"Then, turning to his disciples, Jesus said, “That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food to eat or enough clothes to wear. 23 For life is more than food, and your body more than clothing. 25 Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? 26 And if worry can’t accomplish a little thing like that, what’s the use of worrying over bigger things?"


Dictionary.Com defines self-doubt as "a lack of confidence in oneself and one's abilities." Dictionary.Com defines Fear as "An unpleasant emotion caused by the belief that someone or something is dangerous, likely to cause pain or a threat."

We all have fears. Some examples include; clowns, heights, tight spaces, death, the dark and the list of fears go on and on. Fear causes anxiety, and anxiety causes activity. This activity could lead to an anxiety attack. What happens during an anxiety attack, you may ask? Your heart is pounding. You can’t catch your breath, and you feel consumed by fear and may even think you’re dying.

I had a dentist appointment one morning and I wasn't supposed to be there until 9:30. My dad came to get me around 8:45 ish and dropped me off to get a cavity filled. I had never gotten one done before, and I didn't know what was going to happen. she told me ¨You are just going to feel a little pinch¨, and then she stuck the needle in my mouth and I cried. That caused anxiety. What else causes me anxiety? Well I would say; taking a test or quiz, the doctors, the fear of the unknown, conflict, and so much more


Having anxiety and fear is a chemical imbalance in your brain, and it's your body's natural way to respond to stress. It is not someone's fault, nor is it in their control. When I begin to have anxiety I bite my nails, and in all honesty my brain begins to shut down. I shut out other people. My mind begins to wander and to race. I can feel my heart pounding out of my chest. I begin to cry and to shake because my blood pressure is through the roof. When anxiety hits me like a semi-truck and I don't know how to stop it, what I found most helpful is to go into a dark room and breath in and out, slowly but deeply, and I pour my heart out to God, even if I don't say anything. I know God is there, He is listening, and He is always with me when sometimes I feel like no one else is. 1 Peter 5:7 says ¨Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you.¨ God doesn't want us to fear, or to have these anxieties in our lives. He wants us to live an anxiety free life.

There is an enemy that tries to defeat every one of us. It’s the enemy of self-doubt. You don’t have to doubt your abilities. Pray to God to accomplish THROUGH you the good that He wants to do in your life. Be confident that HE will perform it! That will silence the voice of self-doubt. Some people have a fear of rejection. This fear says, “I’m afraid I won’t be enough.” It’s the sinking feeling that you are an impostor in your own life and that you don’t belong. It’s the mind-numbing worry that if people knew how you are and how you thought about things, you would be rejected by them. This fear keeps us from living life to the fullest because we are afraid to truly live at all. We shrink back and hold back instead of growing and letting go of this doubt that controls our life. We believe that the gifts we have - our arts, dreams, and our strengths are not important and not valuable. We are constantly making the tiring choice to be a false impression to be accepted by others rather than being our authentic selves. When we struggle with self-doubt and let insecurity call the shots in our life, we’re robbing the world of something beautiful. We’re stealing away who God created us to be. We’re holding back the real person this crazy world needs us to be.


We need to learn to overcome these doubts and fears and be strong. Just as Moses proved to himself that God would give him the strength and courage to stand up to the Pharaoh, we need to be confident that God will give us the strength and courage to overcome anything we may face. Cast all of your worries out on our wonderful God who is ALWAYS there for you. When you begin to tell yourself that you're not worth it, and that people would be better off if you weren't here. Start beginning to tell yourself that you are worth something, you are God's amazing accomplishment, you were put on this earth for a reason and God made that plan for you before you were born, he wants you to fulfill his plan.


So, how can we fight this fear and get back on track? We have to silence self-doubt and set ourselves free to be authentic. We have to come to terms with the fact that we’re more amazing and awesome than we think we are. We’ve got to ignore the “I’m not good enough”, and "I am not worthy enough" and start listening for God’s voice saying “I gave you these gifts, abilities, and talents on purpose.” When fear starts to whisper lies. Remember what God says “I’ll be with you.” I will not leave you. I am with you always. So, be brave with who you are, know that our God created you and has got your back. Stop robbing the world of your powerful voice. Don’t take away your gift. Quit holding back the love you have to give. YOU are God's most prized possession!!!


Love, Kayleah Allen


22 views0 comments

Comentarios


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page