top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayleah Allen

Christian Campus Fellowship- My Family.

Let's start off with, What is CCF? CCF is a "non-denominational ministry, to the students of Vincennes University. CCF is unique in its own way, in that we are the only campus ministry that offers Christian housing for the students at VU. This provides a refuge and a place to hang out and get away from the pressures of college life. Through all that we do, we hope to show that there is an alternative to what the world is pushing"(www.vuccf.org).

When I first came to Vincennes I was worried that I wouldn't find somewhere where I could worship God. I didn't know anyone coming here, and I didn't know where anything was. When I moved into my dorm I saw this poster up on the wall just across from my room. It had all of the events for the week lined up. I had saw that on Sunday at 10:30 am CCF was doing a worship service and at 7 pm hosting a Kick Off Party. I knew that it was the perfect opportunity to find somewhere to make friends, and to also grow my faith and worship God. So Sunday morning I walked over to the Jefferson Student Union with my friend MaLia that I knew from High School(I didn't even know she lived in the same dorm as me.) When I walked in, I was greeted with so many smiling faces. I was welcomed with open arms. The way they loved on new students, the way they worshiped, and the way they cared was what drew me into coming back so any more times.

If I wasn't in class, or in my suitemmates room I was always at CCF. We had Sunday morning worship, TNT(Tuesday Night Teaching), Merge, Girl's Bible Studies, and there was always events going on at CCF. CCF was a place I could come to, to get away from the outsides of college, and to honestly get away from my roommate. CCF became my home away from home. They loved on me, made sure I had what I needed, encouraged me, supported me, and just were always there for me. CCF has helped me grow my faith, and has given me so many leadership opportunities. I joined encouragement team and now lead it, I joined the worship team, they took me on my first college retreat where I learned so many more ways to help the people around me.

They accept you at CCF... no matter the background you come from, no matter the baggage you may bring. They accept you. There are so many of them that are willing to pray for you, talk to you about hard things, and just be there. When I first came I had been dealing with so much emotional baggage and they were there to pray for me and talk me through it. I've gained so many new friendships that will stick with me for the rest of my life. This place is all God. I see God a lot through this place.

In February, I got asked to become a resident here at CCF. I happily accepted the offer as this was something I was longing to do and ready to do. I love being a resident here. It has given me so many opportunities to lead, to fellowship, to grow, and to just do things I would never experience before. I get to connect with non-residents just like the residents connected with me my Freshman year. I honestly love it here. I couldn't imagine myself anywhere else. I love all of my resident family and all of the non-residents. If I hadn't came to CCF I wouldn't laugh as much, I wouldn't have found people who get me. CCF is a place where I can be me.


Love, Kayleah Allen


Okay.. but I gotta brag on my Campus Minister, Preston for a second. This guy does so much for CCF. He never fails to make us laugh, He is always there for us when we need him, He teaches us and guides us, He is very supportive in everything that we do, He is so loving and so caring, and He is honestly just like our dad(lol). He just brings this happy presence around CCF that radiates throughout the whole building. I taught him how to do the "Woah" and it's my favorite thing ever! There are so many good memories that we all have with Preston. He makes sure everyone is included and feeling welcome and loved. He will be there for you when you have a question about the Bible, a question about life, or when you just need to talk He is always there. We all love and appreciate Preston more than He will ever know! I could say more about him but then this blog post would be about 10 minutes long. (Preston is the guy in the front with the mask on in the first pic)


28 views0 comments

コメント


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page