top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKayleah Allen

A Break.

Updated: Jun 3, 2021

Hey friends!!! I know that it has been a little while since I have posted a blog, so I just wanted to give you a little update with my life.


First of all, life has been crazy busy, but it has been amazing. I just finished my sophomore year of college!!! I have made so many friends, strengthened so many relationship, learned so much about myself, and have seen myself grow since the beginning of the year. I got CPR/AED/First Aid certified, and I finally passed my math class after taking it 3 times!


So, remember that "20 Goals Before Turning 20" blog post I wrote... well, I have some pretty exciting updates with that. I started seeing a therapist at the end of March. I signed up for a therapist here at my school because it is free and I live on campus so it makes it much easier for me. I didn't really know what to expect when I signed up. I ultimately just wanted someone to talk to that didn't already know me, and that would get to know me. I wanted someone to be that listening ear and to give me feedback and advice on how to better myself, and to become the Kayleah I once knew. I ended therapy this past Monday, and it was crazy that it went so fast, but I am thankful for my therapist Kathy, who invested in me and took the time to get to know me and help me. When people think about therapy they think that there has to be something seriously wrong with you to get therapy but no. I got therapist just to have someone to listen to me, and feel like I am being heard, and help me juggle through my emotions.


Some other highlights would have to include; I got a nose piercing in February(it didn't really hurt it was just a lot of pressure but it was quick and easy, and I love it so much.), I did VU's Got Talent. So the same day that I started therapy, was the day that I worked up the courage to audition for VU's Got Talent. I auditioned with the song, "She Used To Be Mine" by Sara Bareilles. When I got there I was really, really nervous that when I sang my voice was shaky. I got an email from the Student Activities Director saying that I didn't get in the show but she said that it was really hard to turn me down. I was a little upset, but I knew that I could have done way better.

The next day came around and I wake up to another email from the Student Activities Director saying that one of the students who got selected to be in the show dropped out and I was next on their list!! I literally screamed and jumped up and down!!!


Friday was the show and I was laying down before I had to get ready, and I opened my door to see flowers from my campus minister, his wife, and kids. I was truly happy that I had so much support here in Vincennes. 5 pm hit and I went to the Red Skeleton Performing Arts Center to get ready to perform. I got to practice my song, and then I got to hang out back stage with the other girls that were in the show. They all were so nice. We were all cheering each other on, and were happy for each other for whoever won. I am so glad that I had the experience and the support for the Talent Show. I will definitely keep doing the talent show if they have it in the future!! If you would like to watch it, go to YouTube and type in VU Student Activities, go on to the page and click on VU's Got Talent, and go to the time stamp of 33.33, and there you will see my performance. If you would like to watch the rest of it, you totally should. It was an amazing show. There were singers, a dancer, a drummer, a guitarist, spoken word, and color guard. Everyone did an amazing job!!!


So with being done with school, I am so excited for the summer, and to finally feel free for a little bit. I have somethings to look forward to this summer!!!! I celebrate my 20th birthday on May 31st and I get to have a painting party on May 28th, I will be going to Seattle, Washington to visit my brother and his girlfriend for a week. I have never been to Seattle before, and I have only been on a plane once before, so I am really excited. As soon as I get back from Seattle, that weekend I will be going to church camp to be a camp counselor for a week. I am really ecstatic to be able to go back to camp to see the kids, to be in nature, and to just help the kids come to love Jesus Christ the way I love him. I am going on a weekend mystery trip with my SLA group from high school, and I will be going back to Vincennes in July for the weekend to do a summer resident meeting to get ready for the new year.


So with that I wanted to say thank you for tuning in to my blogs, and reading them. I will be making a new schedule to post my blogs. I will be posting a new blog every other Thursday. So, look out on Thursday's for a new post.


I love you guys, thank you for the support.


Sincerely,

Kayleah Allen



9 views0 comments

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page